Skip to content

FORSAKEN DREAMS by MaryLu Tyndall — Book Review

March 5, 2014

Image

Book Description:

Embark on a seafaring adventure in a brand-new series from bestselling author MaryLu Tyndall. After witnessing the death and destruction caused by the Civil War, Colonel Blake Wallace is eager to leave his once precious Southern homeland for the pristine shores of Brazil and the prospect of a new utopian community. Widow Eliza Crawford seeks passage on Wallace’s ship harboring a dirty secret—and a blossoming hope for a fresh start. But will dangers from the sea and from man keep them from the peace and love they long for?

My thoughts:

MaryLu did it once again. No surprise. A good plot, witty dialogue, beautiful setting, and a few…explosions makes a good book. However, character development makes a great book. I fell in love with MaryLu’s writing and exceptional character development when I read Veil of Pearls, and she shows her amazing ability once again in Forsaken Dreams.

Eliza, the heroine, was possibly one of the best characters I’ve come across. Her patience, grace, strength, and faith were inspiring. However, she was still a real character, not an example of an unrelatable, perfect Christian woman. She struggled with her faith and what she thought was right versus what God wanted. Simply put, I may have developed a slight girl-crush.

Likewise, the hero of the story, Blake, went through so much and was still able to keep his strength and goodness. I loved reading about Blake’s courage while dealing with such adversity and his genuine care and concern for not only Eliza but everyone else. Spiritual growth isn’t the only thing Blake’s character development focuses on. There is so much packed into this one character…I’m not even going to try and write it all down. You’ll love him. I promise.

There is only one thing I had an issue with. Only thing that would knock this down from an enthusiastic five star to a 4.9 star for me. Although Blake did change so much throughout the story, and I sincerely admired and liked him, there was something lacking.

Slight spoiler ahead..but nothing too revealing.
Blake, multiple times, had incredible temper tantrums. Yes, they were warranted. But I just couldn’t feel as though he was completely justified. Especially at the very end when all he does is apologize quickly before Eliza completely forgives him. For me, there needed to be more development of them coming to an understanding that he wouldn’t just fly off the handle and walk away from Eliza again. Especially after she had stuck by him so patiently through every single thing that happened. Other than this slight discomfort, I love everything about how MaryLu brought these two characters together through faith and forgiveness.

End of slight spoiler:)

I really LOVE MaryLu’s writing. And, honestly, I think you will too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Whimsically Yours

The Whimsical Life of an Aquarius

ALEHEADS

Because They're ALL Session Beers...

I Love My Kindle

Fun and information about the Kindle and the world of e-books

ZEN AND PI

It is what it is and it too shall pass.

