Skip to content

CLAY’S HOPE by Melissa Haag — Book Review

April 28, 2015

Clays-Twitter-Teaser3-1024x409

Amazon | iBooks | Barnes & Noble

Clay is a man of few human talents. As a wolf, he hunts well and can fight off a grizzly twice his size, but has no aspirations. The idea of a Mate isn’t something he has ever seriously entertained. Dreamed about, maybe, but he knows the chances are nearly non-existent. 

Then he meets Gabby, a human girl. She hates him at first sight, yet he can’t let her go. Who he was is no longer important. Now, who he needs to become to win her over is the only thing that matters.


Companion novels always make me a tad wary. You just never know what to expect. Is it going to be exactly the same? A copy and paste of everything. Is it going to be completely different? Is it going to ruin the original story that I fell in love with?

When Melissa Hagg emailed me and asked if I would be interested in reading Clay’s Hope, I wasn’t sure about it. I’ve fallen in love with her Judgment of the Six series and didn’t want to be disappointed with a companion story that wasn’t what I was hoping for. But, I decided to trust Melissa:)

Clay’s Hope does fall into the normal companion series routine. It follows exactly what happened in Hope(less), the first book in the Judgment of the Six series. I was a little worried at first that it wouldn’t be able to hold my attention since I already knew the story. I’ve read Hope(less) a few times since Melissa insists on torturing her fans and not publishing everything right now. I thought, maybe, it would just be the same scenes with copy and pasted dialogue (what little there is since Clay doesn’t exactly speak much). But, Melissa has my trust for a reason.

Yes, scenes were the same. Yes, some of the dialogue was the same. But, the perspective was completely different. I think one of the reasons this companion novel worked so well was because Clay never really spoke in Hope(less). His thoughts and opinions were always shown with a shrug or grunt. The reader never got to hear what he really thought. So, being able to see things from Clay’s perspective was great.

Clay is every bit as awesome as you think he might be in Hope(less). His attitude and sense of humor draws you in and makes you cheer for him. His devotion to Gabby makes your heart melt. I think you could read this as a standalone story, but if you really want to get the full effect of Clay, you need to read Hope(less), which I did again (please don’t judge).

A comment on Melissa’s writing. She has a great style and her stories always have a great flow. They don’t feel stilted or disjointed. Everything goes together well and time moves at a good pace. I really love that if you read Melissa’s books, you can see her writing style developing and only getting better.

A fresh take on shape shifters. An intriguing story from a new, already loved, perspective. Read it. Just do it.

Read Hope(less) for free:) Click me!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Whimsically Yours

The Whimsical Life of an Aquarius

ALEHEADS

Because They're ALL Session Beers...

I Love My Kindle

Fun and information about the Kindle and the world of e-books

ZEN AND PI

It is what it is and it too shall pass.

The more accurate guide to the future

thoughts from Ian Pearson of Futurizon

